Tech giants, Facebook, Google, Microsoft, join 17 US states in lawsuit against Trump’s new visa policy

by Shatakshi Gupta

Tech companies and states have opened their front against the new visa policy issued by the Trump administration in the US last week.  Several tech companies including Google, Facebook, Microsoft and 17 states have filed a lawsuit against the Trump administration over its new visa policy.

 Tech companies call new visa policy illegal

Tech companies and states have filed suit in the District Court of Massachusetts.  The suit is filed against the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and the American Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICI).  Tech companies say this new visa policy is cruel, accidental and illegal.  Companies have demanded a complete ban on the new visa policy.

 More than 60 universities also protested

More than 60 universities, along with Harvard University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, have filed cases against the new visa policy.  There were over 1 million foreign students in the US in the 2018-19 academic years.  Massachusetts alone has more than 77,000 foreign students who contribute $ 3.2 billion to the US economy each year.

Also read: Impact of Coronavirus on global education sector

 New visa policy will affect about 2 lakh Indian students

According to the Student and Exchange Visitor Program (SEVP), around 1, 94,556 Indian students were enrolled in various educational institutions of the United States in January this year.  It has 1, 26,132 mail and 68,405 female students.  Indian students will also be affected by the implementation of the new visa policy.

 What is the new visa policy of the Trump administration?

The Trump administration issued a new visa policy on 6 July, 2020.  In this it was compulsory for foreign students to go to class and study.  The new visa policy stated that students who are studying online and do not have to attend classes in colleges, their visas would be suspended.  It was said in the new visa policy that foreign students who study online will have to leave the US, and they should continue their education from their respective countries.