Final phase polling in Punjab will decide the fate of Sukhbir Singh

by Madhvi Bansal
Published: Last Updated on
Sukhbir Singh

The seventh and final phase of 2019 lok sabha elections will take place on 19th May. In this phase, SAD chief minister Sukhbir Singh Badal and along with him, two union ministers- Hardeep Singh Puri and Harsimrat Kaur Badal are few of the candidates whose fate will be decided. Including these three, there 278 candidates whose fate is also on-line in the final phase for 13 lol sabha seats in Punjab.

Read more: Support for congress blot on Kejriwal, says Sheila Dixit

Sukhbir Singh Badal and two union ministers are considered to be party’s stronghold

Sukhbir Singh Badal, who is the MLA of Jalalabad will be contesting elections from Ferozpur Lok Sabha constituency. He will be fight to win against Sher Singh Bhibaya, the Akali Dal rebel who is now a Congress party candidate. Along with Badal, his wife and Union minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal is also contesting elections. She is the candidate for Bathinda constituency lok sabha seat, third time SAD’s bastion. She will be pitted against Amrinder Singh Raja Warring, the Congress party candidate, AAP’s Baljinder Kaur and Sukhpal Singh Khaira, the Punjab Ekta party’s candidate.

Read more: Chandrababu Naidu reaches Lucknow, likely to hold talks with Mayawati, Akhilesh

Hardeep Singh Puri is a Union Minister and former diplomat. Puri is the BJP candidate for Amritsar constituency and will be facing the Congress party candidate MP Gurjeet Singh Aujla.

Chandigarh Election will witness bollywood candidates

In Chandigarh, it is believed that more than six people will cast their votes and choose between Kirron Kher and Pawan Kumar Bansal. While Kirron Kher is a MP and BJP candidate, Pawan Kumar Bansal is a former railway minister and Congress party candidate. Chandigarh is a lone constituency.

Read more: Will May 23 Arrest The Dangerous Godse Phenomenon?

Sunny Deol, who recently turned politician will be contesting elections from Gurdaspur constituency. He major opponent is MP and Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar. Like in all the phases, the polling will take place from 7 am to 6 pm.