Nobel Prize In Physics 2020: Rogan Penrose, Reinhard And Andrea Share This Year’s Prize

by Shatakshi Gupta

The laureates of the most prestigious Nobel Prize in the field of Physics for the year 2020 has been announced. This year the award has been given to Rogan Penrose, Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez.  Half of the prize money will be given to Penrose alone, while the other half will be divided between Reinhard and Andrea.

The award has been given to Roger Penrose for the discovery that general theory of relativity leads to the formation of a black hole.  At the same time, Reinhard and Andrea Ghez have been given the award for the discovery of a supermassive compact object in the centre of our galaxy.

Also read: 5 Sportsperson Including Rohit Sharma Will Be Awarded Khel Ratna, See Also The Other Awards And Selected Candidates

 Roger Penrose

About him, a release from the Nobel Prize Committee stated that he is conferred this award “ for the discovery that black hole formation is a robust prediction of the general theory of relativity.” However, Einstein himself did not believe that black holes actually exist.

 In January 1965, Penrose proved that black holes could actually form and described in detail that they possessed singularities or singularities in which all known laws of nature were abolished.  His article is considered the most important contribution to the General Theory Of Relativity after Einstein.

 Reinhard and Andrea

 Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez developed methods to look across giant clouds of interstellar gas and dust in the centre of our Milky Way using the world’s largest telescopes.  Their work has given us the most convincing evidence yet of a supermassive black hole at the centre of the Milky Way.

David Havilland, chairman of the committee for the Nobel for Physics, said the discoveries of this year’s winners have touched new heights in the study of super simulative and compact objects.  But there are still many questions, such as their internal structure and how we test the theory of gravity around black holes?

Last year, these three people got the Nobel of Physics  

Last year, the award was given to Canadian cosmologist James Peebles for his Theory of the ‘Aftermath of the Big Bang’.  He was accompanied by Swiss astronomer Michel Mayer and Didier Queloz.  The latter two were given this award for the first discovery of exo-planet.