UGC Declared 24 Universities As ‘Fake’, Check Here The Complete List

by Shatakshi Gupta

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has released a list of 24 fake universities running in different states of the country.  Majority of these unrecognized institutions are located in Delhi and Uttar Pradesh. 

UGC Secretary Rajneesh Jain informed students and public that at present 24 self-proclaimed unaccredited institutions are working in violation of UGC Act, which has been declared as fake universities and cancelled their rights to award any degree. 

 Among these 24 universities eight of are from Uttar Pradesh, seven from Delhi and two each from Odisha and West Bengal have emerged.  There are one such fake universities in Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry and Maharashtra.  The UGC also stated that the term ‘university’ cannot be used under the criteria unless it is established as per the rules.

Also read: Here is what revised guidelines of UGC says regarding final year examinations?

 It is noteworthy that some names appear repeatedly in the lists issued by the UGC in the past years.  The UGC has issued a notice in this regard.  It says that according to the rules of Article 23 of the UGC Act all these 24 institutions have not been given the right to use the word ‘University’.  These are unrecognized institutions violating the UGC Act 1956.

Here is the complete list of 24 Universities              

 1-Commercial University Limited, Daryaganj, Delhi

 2. Vocational University, Delhi

 3. ADR Centric Juridical University, ADR House, Rajendra Place, New Delhi

 4. Indian Institute of Science and Engineering, New Delhi

 5. Vishwakarma Open University for Self Employment, Sanjay Enclave, New Delhi

 6. Spiritual University, Rohini, Delhi

 7. Badaganvi Government World Open University Education Society, Belgaum, Karnataka

 8. St. John’s University, Krishnatam, Kerala

 9. Raja Arabic University, Nagpur, Maharashtra

 10. Indian Institute of Alternative Medicine, Chowringhee Road, Kolkata, West Bengal

 11. Institute of Alternative Medicine and Research, Kolkata, West Bengal

 12. Varanasi Sanskrit University, Varanasi

 13. Mahila Gram Vidyapeeth / University, Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh

 14. Gandhi Hindi Vidyapeeth, Prayagraj, Uttar Pradesh

 15. National University of Electro Complex Homeopathy, Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh

 16 Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose University (Open University), Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh

 17. University of Uttar Pradesh, Mathura, Uttar Pradesh

 18. Maharana Pratap Shiksha Niketan University, Pratapgarh, Uttar Pradesh

 19. Indraprastha Education Council, Noida, Uttar Pradesh

 20. New India Education Council, Rourkela, Odisha

 21. North Odisha University of Agriculture and Technology, Mayurganj, Odisha

 22. Sri Bodhi Academy of Higher Education, Puducherry

 23. Christ New Testament Deemed University, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh

 24. United Nations University, Delhi