Chairman Venkaiah Naidu suspended 8 MPs of Rajya Sabha over Misbehavior

by Shatakshi Gupta

During the discussion on the Agriculture Bill in the Rajya Sabha on Sunday chaos had happened. Now, Chairman Venkaiah Naidu has taken big action against the eight MPs who created a ruckus.  8 MPs who misbehaved have been suspended for the entire session. 

TMC MP Derek O’Brien, AAP MP Sanjay Singh, Raju Satav, KK Ragesh, Ripun Bora, Dola Sen, Syed Nazir Hussain and Elmaran Karim have been suspended for a week.

 Venkaiah Naidu expressed displeasure over the behaviour of MPs

 Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu expressed displeasure over the behaviour of MPs.  Naidu rejected the opposition’s no-confidence motion against Deputy Chairman Harivansh.  Naidu said that the proposal was not in a proper format.

Also read: Lok Sabha Passed The Contentious Agrarian Bills Amid Protests: All You Need To Know

 Defence Minister Rajnath Singh also attacked the opposition last evening, saying that the behaviour of the members towards the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha was not only ‘bad’ but also ‘shameful’.  Rajnath Singh said without naming anyone, “As far as I know, this has never happened in the history of Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha. Based on rumours, an attempt was made to mislead farmers.  What happened was against the dignity of the House.”

What caused the ruckus?

 During the discussion on the Agriculture Bill in the Rajya Sabha on Sunday, there was a lot of uproars.  Chaos started after the time of the sitting of the House was extended beyond the time fixed for passing the bill.  Opposition members believed that such a decision could only be taken by consensus and they gathered in front of the Speaker’s Chair, shouting slogans against the government.  They accused the government of being anti-farmer.

 After much uproar, Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar had to briefly speak and Deputy Chairman Harivansh started the process of getting the bills passed.  Four proposals brought by the Opposition for a comprehensive inquiry were soundly rejected.

After this, Congress, Trinamool, CPM and DMK members demanded a division of votes on the issue.  Deputy Chairman Harivansh rejected their demand and said that the vote can be divided only when the members are in their seats.  Trinamool leader Derek O’Brien headed towards the seat and tear the rulebook in front of the Deputy Chairman. 

DMK member Tiruchi Siva, who, along with O’Brien, KC Venugopal of Congress and CPM member KK Ragesh, proposed to send the bills to the Standing Committee, they tore up the papers and tossed them in the air.

Later, the house was adjourned for 15 minutes.  When the house resumed, the opposition parties shouted slogans but could not prevent Harivansh from holding the voice to pass the bill, rejecting the amendments brought by the opposition parties and passing both the bills by voice vote, without putting the bills to actual voting.