By Defeating India, Kiwis Become Maiden World Test Champions

by Shatakshi Gupta

The New Zealand team has become the first ICC World Test Champion. Kiwis defeated Team India by 8 wickets in the final played in Southampton. New Zealand team has won only two ICC cups in its 91-year history. New Zealand played its first match against England on 10 January 1930. Since then the team could win any ICC cup. This year, ICC started the World Test Championship i.e. the World Cup tournament of Tests for the first time. New Zealand has defeated the Indian team for the second time in the final of an ICC tournament. Earlier, in the final of the 2000 Champions Trophy (ODI format), India was defeated by 4 wickets.

You may also like: Top 5 Run Scorers at ICC U-19 World Cup 1988

Prize money

Test champion New Zealand got prize money of $1.6 million (about Rs 11.71 crore). At the same time, Team India, as a runner up got $8 lakh (about Rs 5.85 crore). Besides, prize money New Zealand got Test Championship Mace.

Moreover, Australia, who finished third in the Test Championship race, was given $4.5 lakh (about Rs 3.29 crore).  Fourth-placed England got $3.5 million (about Rs 2.56 crore) and fifth-placed Pakistan got $2 lakh (about Rs 1.46 crore). West Indies, South Africa and Sri Lanka, other teams that were part of the Test Championship, were given $1-1 lakh (about Rs 73 lakh).

The match:

Also read: Sports Ministry hiked the pay of coaches amid lockdown; move will attract world-class coaches

The result of the match came out on the reserve day after about two and a half days of the game was washed away due to rain. Batting first, India had scored 217 runs after losing the toss in the match.  In return, New Zealand scored 249 runs. After this, in the second innings, Team India got all out for 170 runs and set a target of 139 runs. New Zealand won the match by making 140 for the loss of 2 wickets.

In the second innings, New Zealand captain Kane Williamson scored an unbeaten 52 and Ross Taylor scored 47 not out. Opener Devon Conway scored 19 and Tom Latham scored 9. Indian Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin took 2 wickets. Kyle Jameson, who took 5 wickets in the first innings and 7 in the second innings, became the player of the match.