The Wait Is Over, BCCI Announced IPL Schedule, Check Here The List

by Shatakshi Gupta

The new schedule of the Indian Premier League 2020 has been released on Sunday.  According to the BCCI, the first match of the tournament will be played between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians on September 19 in Abu Dhabi. 

The match will be played at 7:30 pm Indian time.  At the moment the schedule of league matches has been announced.  Playoff dates and grounds will be announced later.  The 13th season will start from 19th September, while the final match will be played on 10th November.

 The tournament consists of 10 doubleheaders i.e. two matches, a day and an evening match will now start half an hour earlier at 7:30 pm (Indian time).   The 13th edition of the IPL was to be held from March first but it was postponed due to the rising outbreak of Coronavirus.

Also read: After Leaving IPL Suresh Raina Breaks Silence, Demands Thorough Investigation In His Relative’s Murder Case

 What will be the Indian time of the matches?

 On the day of two matches, the first match will be held at 3:30 pm Indian time, while the second match will be played from 7:30 pm. When there is only one match, the match will take place from 7:30 pm on the day.  24 matches will be played in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi and 12 in Sharjah. 

Some Highlights of the schedule                                 

  • Starting on 19 September and final will be on 10 November.
  • The first match is between Mumbai and Chennai in Abu Dhabi.
  • 60 matches between 8 teams in 53 days.
  • 10 doubleheader (two matches in a day) match.
  • Timing of Matches: 3:30 pm and 7:30 pm ( Indian time).
  • 3 Venues – Abu Dhabi, Sharjah and Dubai.

Here is the complete schedule

 Why there was a delay in the announcement of the schedule?

 Actually, the tournament schedule was already announced, but in the meantime, two players from Chennai Super Kings were found infected with Coronavirus. Now, the report of Chennai Super Kings players has been negative. Team has started practice.  The CSK players were to begin practice in the UAE from August 28 but had to postpone it after 13 members of the squad (2 players and 11 members of the support staff) found positive.

Commentary team

According to the report of Mumbai Mirror, the BCCI has also finalized seven commentators for IPL.  It includes Sunil Gavaskar, Laxman Sivaramakrishnan, Murali Karthik, Deep Dasgupta, Anjum Chopra, Rohan Gavaskar and Harsha Bhogle. They will all leave for UAE on 10 September.  These are divided into two panels.  One is based for Dubai and Sharjah while the other will be based in Abu Dhabi.