Didi Is Back In Bengal; BJP Got Puducherry This Time; Know Here Results Of 5 Legislatures

by Shatakshi Gupta

The election results of Bengal, Assam, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Puducherry came on Sunday after a 62-day long election process.

The decision of the Nandigram seat alone overshadowed the whole election. CM Mamta Banerjee was in the fray from this seat in Bengal. The election here became interesting as she was fighting against Shubhendu Adhikari, who left the TMC and joined the BJP. Shubhendu had said that he would win by 50 thousand votes otherwise would leave politics.

The BJP was pushing hard to win the hearts of the Bengali people but did not get success in the state. In Kerala, people showed their faith in LDF. In Tamil Nadu, DMK beats AIDMK. In Puducherry, NDA got lucky this time. In Assam, BJP managed to save its current government. Now, let us have a look at the results of the 5 legislatures and we will try to understand the significance of these results.

  • West Bengal

Total seats: 294 (voting was held on 292 seats)

Magical number: 148 (147 in terms of 292 seats)

Winner: Trinamool Congress

Seats: 213

Also read: Election Commission Issues New Guidelines Regarding Assembly Elections Results


This was the 11th election in Bengal in the last 49 years since 1972 and the party which is winning maintains the trend of 200+ seats. Only once in 2001, the Left got 194 seats.

It is a hat-trick of TMC in the state and shows the belief of people in Mamta’s leadership. TMC did not suffer any significant loss of seats.

However, the advantage for the BJP is that it has crossed 70 seats from 3 seats in 5 years. On the other hand, the BJP is was ahead in 126 assemblies in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. In 2 years, BJP lost its strength in more than 40 seats.

The biggest hit was for the Left and the Congress as both were eliminated in Bengal in a way.

  • Assam

Total Seats: 126

Majority mark: 64

Winner: BJP+

Seats: 75


In the current elections, Assam was the only state where BJP was fighting to save its current position.This victory of the BJP created history in Assam because before that in 70 years, no non-Congress party has returned to power for the second consecutive time.

Moreover, these results indicatethat the issue of NRC  and CAA did not harm BJP.

Sarbananda Sonowal, who saved power in the state will now grow in stature in the BJP.

  • Tamil Nadu

Total seats: 234

Majority: 118

Who won: DMK + Congress seats: 151


 Assembly elections were held here for the first time without Jayalalithaa and Karunanidhi.  This victory of the DMK determined that Karunanidhi’s son MK Stalin would now be the biggest leader of Dravidian politics. The DMK has returned to power after 10 years and that too without Karunanidhi.Both Karunanidhi and Jayalalithaa were film stars before they entered politics, while Stalin is a non-film face.

In the absence of Jayalalithaa, the AIADMK had only one face as CM Palaniswami, but Stalin proved more popular in the state.

In the current elections, the Congress-led UPA was shown to be strong only in Tamil Nadu. With this, the UPA will now have a government in 6 states. Besides Tamil Nadu, UPAis currently in power in Punjab, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra and Jharkhand.

  • Kerala

Total Seats: 140

Majority: 71

Winner: LDF

Seats: 93


This time voters of Kerala discontinued the trend of the last 8 elections of giving power to the Left and Congress every alternative term. After Karunakaran of Congress, PinarayiVijayan of the Left will be the second leader who will become CM for the second consecutive time.It was said that the LDF was lagging in the campaign 10 days before voting, but the results did not show its impact.

Rahul did small rallies androadshows in Kerala. But, but this time he could not bring the UDF to power. Congress won 19 out of 20 seats here in the general election.

  • Puducherry

Total seats: 30

Majority mark: 16

Winner: AINRC + BJP

Seats: 16


Congressdealt a huge lossin the form of defections of MLAs in February, just two months before the elections.  Congress could not come back in this election after the imposition of the President’s rule.

Now, N Rangaswamy is the contender for the post of CM here. He has also been the CM before.

After Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh, Puducherry will be the third state in the south where the BJP will form the government in a coalition.