IPL 2020: Mumbai Indians Becomes Champion For The Fifth Time; Check Here The Award List Of This Season

by Shatakshi Gupta

Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals by five wickets on Tuesday to clinch the IPL 13 title. This is the fifth time the Mumbai Indians team has managed to win the IPL trophy.  With the victory on Tuesday, Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians have also made a very special record.

Mumbai Indians also won the IPL title in 2019.  Mumbai Indians is the second such team in the history of IPL that has managed to win the title twice in a row.  Before Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings won the IPL title for two consecutive times in 2010 and 2011.

Fifth title win

The Mumbai Indians team has held the IPL title for a record fifth time in 2020.  The special thing is that Mumbai has won five titles in the last 8 years.  Mumbai had to wait for 6 years to win its first IPL title and in 2013 team became the champion for the first time.  Mumbai Indians also won IPL titles in 2015, 2017 and 2019.

 After winning Rohit said, “I am very happy with the way our team performed throughout the season. I said in the beginning of the tournament that we need to maintain the winning habit.  We could not expect more from it.  We started our efforts with the first ball and then did not look back.  A lot of credit goes to the Mumbai Indians Support Staff.”  He further said, “I had to find the right balance to get the best out of the players.  I am not one of those captains who are behind the players.  It is important to instil confidence in them.  Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya and Pollard have been playing their roles for a long time and they know what to do.”

Here is the list of Achievers of this season

Orange cap

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) captain KL Rahul scored the highest 670 runs in IPL 2020.  In the tournament he scored at a tremendous average of 55.83, including a century.  In this list, Delhi Capitals opener Shikhar Dhawan was at number two.  Dhawan scored 618 runs in the tournament.

You may also like: Kohli Becomes The Second Batsman In IPL To Hit 500 Fours

Purple Cap

Delhi Capitals fast bowler Kagiso Rabada claimed the Purple Cap with the highest 30 wickets in the IPL 2020.  Rabada was the highest wicket-taker for Delhi for the second consecutive year.  Earlier, in IPL 2019, he took 25 wickets in his name.

Game Changer of the Match

In the final match against Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma played a match-winning innings of 68 runs. He scored these runs in 51 balls with a strike rate of 133.33, which included five fours and four sixes. For this innings of Rohit, he was chosen as ‘Game Changer of the Match’.

Player of the Finals

Fast bowler Trent Boult was instrumental in helping Mumbai Indians win the final.  Boult took three wickets for 30 runs in four overs of his quota in this match against Delhi. He took two wickets in the power play itself.  With this, he became the highest  wicket taker (17) in the power play in one season of IPA.  He was adjudged ‘Player of the Finals’ for his performance.

Emerging Player of the Season

 Royal Challengers Bangalore opener Devdutt Padikkal, who made his IPL 2020 debut, was elected ‘Emerging Player of the Season’.  He scored 473 runs in 15 matches of this season at an average of 31.53, including five half-centuries.

Most Valuable Player

Rajasthan Royals (RR) pacer Jofra Archer became the ‘Most Valuable Player’ of IPL 2020.  He took the maximum 20 wickets for Rajasthan in this season. Along with this, he also scored 113 runs at bat with a strike rate of around 180.