How Many Seats Does AAP Have In Delhi?

by Madhvi Bansal

The assembly polls in Delhi are less than a month away and the ruling Aam Admi Party is all set to sweep almost all the seats out of the total 70 seats. The state election in Delhi will be held on February 8, 2020, and the results are expected to be declared on February 11, 2020. The three-cornered elections will be held between the AAP, the BJP and the Congress.

AAP candidates contesting in the assembly elections

The party announced its list of 70 candidates. Arvind Kejriwal will contest the election from New Delhi assembly seat while Manish Sisodiya, deputy CM, will contest from Patparganj seat. Parlad Singh Sahni is the candidate of AAP for Chandni Chowk seat, Vijay Kumar Mishra is for Dwarka and Dipu Chaudhary is for Gandhi Nagar seat. After releasing the list of candidates, AAP took to Twitter to congratulate the candidates. AAP on Twitter wrote, “Aam Aadmi Party declares all 70 candidates for the upcoming Delhi election. We congratulate all the candidates and wish them all the best to establish high levels of trust and integrity within their constituency.”

More women are contesting this time

In an interview given to the media, Deputy CM Manish Sisodia said, “The existing MLAs will contest elections on 46 seats in place of 15 existing MLAs and 9 new MLAs on vacant seats. There are 8 women among them. In 2015, there were six women.” Along with this, 6 new names were added for the vacant seats and 15 seats were changed. Thus, it would be interesting to check the poll results of Delhi to know if the people of Delhi are impressed by the working of the ruling party or they will correct their own decision of giving chance to the very new AAP in 2015.


Projections are likely favorable for Aam Admi Party

The projections are there that the grand old party in India’s capital is likely to win between zero and six seats while AAP is projected to perform well in the upcoming general elections, particularly in outer Delhi areas. The party is expected to win 17 seats in the central Delhi while 16 seats in the trans-Delhi region. Considering the projection range for BJP in Delhi is between three and thirteen seats. Such projections are raising up the excitement level of people for Delhi politics. Now, let’s wait till February 13, 2020, to see which party will take over the crown of governance in Delhi.

Aam Admi Party is confident to win the elections

This time the ruling Aam Admi Party has been able to retain its 46 members of MLA. Delhi CM, Arvind Kejriwal, said on Friday that AAP will win all the 70 seats in the assembly elections as he appreciated the contribution of his party members on his birthday. He said,“ I want to thank the AAP workers for their contribution towards the party. In last assembly elections, we won 67 seats but this time we will win all 70 seats.”

Also Read:Delhi Election 2020: A Fierce Battle