Record 78 women MPs in new Lok Sabha

by Madhvi Bansal
Record 78 women MPs

Loksabha election-2019 has set a new benchmark for the country. On one hand, BJP has set a new record of winning more than 300 seats with majority while on the other hand new Loksabha is set to welcome 78 women MPs. It is the new record in the Indian Loksabha when there will be 78 women MPs out of 726 women candidates. After the Loksabha elections 2014, there were 69 women MPs, it was also a record then. The number has jumped up this year and BJP has broken its own record made in 2014.

Read more: India Lok sabha election result 2019 live updates: “Nothing is impossible”, says Smriti Irani

Women empowered Loksabha

In few days, the new MP’s will take oath in the lower house. Out of 542 MPs, 78 will be women with Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal having the highest number of women MPs. Each state has 11 women MPs. There are 8 MPs from BJP in UP while 1 each from Congress and Apna Dal. In West Bengal, Mamta Banerjee led Trinamol Congress gave 40% representation to the women candidates in this elections. Hence, overall 9 women candidates from the state will be taking oath as MP in the loksabha. In addition to this, there will be 2 more women MPs from BJP in West Bengal who will be taking oath with others. YSR Congress Party has also 4 women MPs from Andhra Pradesh while India’s youngest state, Telangana has 2 than one MP in the last elections.

Read more: Vivek Oberoi apologises for tweet on Aish, dropped from Charity fundraising event

In Maharashtra (8), Odisha (7), Gujarat (6), Andhra Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh (4 each) and 3 each in Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan while Karnataka has 2 women MPs in the 17th Loksbaha.

Read more: Cannes 2019: Kangana Ranaut looks like a regal beauty in a golden saree!

Loksabha is set to welcome new faces as MPs

Bill of representation of 33% women in Parliament is still pending. It is expected that this bill be passed in the upcoming Loksabha. 27 women MPs out of 41, like Sonia Gandhi, Kirron Kher and Hema Malini, have been able to retain their position in 17th Loksabha while new faces like Smriti Irani and Sadhvi Pragya Thakur are set for the new phase with their marvellous victory in the general elections 2019. They have been able to make their victories over some renowned rivals.